Get paid to attend the 01SJ Biennial

Get paid to attend the 01SJ Biennial

The 3rd 01SJ Biennial―a multi-disciplinary, medium agnostic, contemporary art festival curated by Steve Dietz―will take place September 16-19, 2010 in San Jose, CA. The theme of the Biennial is “Build Your Own World,” which posits that the future is not about what’s next, it’s about what we can build to ensure that what’s next matters. And asks how can we, as resourceful, innovative, and knowledgeable local and global citizens build and participate in a desirable future in the face of global climate change, economic meltdown, political instability, and cultural divisiveness? To find out more about the Biennial visit:

Phase I – Leveraging New Technology

Beginning September 4, Builders will participate in a unique opportunity to “build” a user experience for Out of the Garage Into the World (OOTG), one of the central programs of the 2010 01SJ Biennial. OOTG is homage to the spirit of invention that is Silicon Valley and to citizen science. ZER01’s goal is to provide visitor’s to OOTG with as rich an experience as possible. You will work with a new mobile application called to create short mobile videos, personal descriptions, tags, quick references, favorites and photographs. The position requires regular commuting to San Jose, CA in order to experience and report on OOTG. This phase of the project runs from September 4-15h and requires 2-3 Builders.

Phase II – My BYOW

This is your opportunity to tell the world about the 2010 01SJ Biennial; share your personal insights, play the art and pop culture critic, create stories, upload images, Tweet, augment reality. The sky’s the limit. This phase runs from September 14-20th and focuses on the 4-day festival portion of the Biennial and generally involves reporting on and collecting information based on the theme Build Your Own World.

More information here.

Just some of the dozens of artists you would be meeting and interviewing: Blast Theory, Brody Condon, Teddy Cruz, Amy Franceschini, Monica Haller, Natalie Jeremijenko, Zoe Keating, Chico MacMurtrie, Miguel Palma, Rigo 23, Stephen Vitiello.